Search the web
Sign In
New User? Sign Up
StMinneSomePlace-JungleDrummer · The St MinneSomePlace Parrot Head Club
? Already a member? Sign in to Yahoo!

Yahoo! Groups Tips

Did you know...
Want to share photos of your group with the world? Add a group photo to Flickr.

Best of Y! Groups

   Check them out and nominate your group.
Having problems with message search? Fill out this form to ensure your group is one of the first to be migrated to the new message search system.

Messages

  Messages Help
Advanced
Jimmy's Lawyers at Work in Minneapolis   Message List  
Reply | Forward Message #191 of 655 |

http://www.prnewswire.com/cgi-bin/stories.pl?ACCT=104&STORY=/www/story/05-23-2007/0004594486&EDATE=

National Arbitration Forum Issues Three Decisions on Internet Domain Name Disputes

                Trademarks: Disney, Jimmy Buffett and Angels

    MINNEAPOLIS, May 23 /PRNewswire/ --
http://www.domain-disputes.com --
The National Arbitration Forum recently issued decisions on three separate
domain name disputes filed by Disney, Jimmy Buffett and Angels Baseball.
    "We continue to see a trend towards filing complaints under the UDRP,
rather than lawsuits, for these Internet conflicts," said Kristine Dorrain,
Internet Legal Counsel of the National Arbitration Forum. "We're on the way
to surpassing last year's record-breaking domain name filings." In 2006,
the National Arbitration Forum saw its largest filing year ever, marking a
21% increase over 2005.
    The following decision was made in accordance with the Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) of the Internet Corporation
for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) by independent and neutral
arbitrators on the National Arbitration Forum's panel.

JimmyBuffettUniversity.com
    On February 22, 2007, Margaritaville Enterprises, LLC, controlled by
popular singer Jimmy Buffett, submitted a complaint electronically with the
National Arbitration Forum asserting legal rights to the domain names
BuffettUniversity.com, JBuffett.com, JimmyBuffettUniversity.com and
UniversityOfBuffett.com.
    The panel concluded that the Jimmy Buffett-themed domain names were
identical or confusingly similar to the registered trademark Jimmy Buffett.
Furthermore, the respondent and registered owner Whapp Innovations, Inc.
was using the domain names to operate pay-per-click websites and thusly for
commercial gain. It was clear to the panel that the respondent had no
rights or legitimate interests in the domain names and had registered and
used them in bad faith. On April 2, 2007, the panel found that the
complainant had established all three elements required under the ICANN
Policy and had defended successfully its trademark in domain name dispute
resolution. The four domain names were ordered to be transferred to Jimmy
Buffett.

Hideeho!

Jerry



Wed May 23, 2007 4:21 pm

stminnesomep...
Offline Offline
Send Email Send Email

Forward
Message #191 of 655 |
Expand Messages Author Sort by Date

http://www.prnewswire.com/cgi-bin/stories.pl?ACCT=104&STORY=/www/story/0\ 5-23-2007/0004594486&EDATE ...
stminnesomeplace
stminnesomep...
Offline Send Email
May 23, 2007
9:47 pm
Advanced

Copyright © 2009 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Guidelines - Help